Year Milestones
1973 December 31
  • DC retired as SPCS Secretary
1974 August 29
  • Making use of the retirement benefits (gratuity, PF), DC started a new bookstore named DC Books. In a rented room at the second floor of M.D. Commercial Centre, DC Books was inaugurated by Adv. N.Krishnan
1975 August
  • DC was nominated to the Malayalam Official Language Committee by the Government.
December 14
  • Kerala Publishers and Booksellers Association elected DC as their President.
1976 April 29
  • Akashavani broadcast DC's speech on the topic “Book Publishing: Achievements of the cooperative sector in the last ten years
1977 November 1
  • DC took over Current Books which then had only 6 branches and made them into retail outlets.
November 6
  • DC presented an essay on 'Journalism and Book Publication' in the first World Malayalam Conference held at Thiruvananthapuram.
1978 March 30
  • Published three volumes of 'E.V. Krithikal' (E.V's Writings) DC unveiled E.V. Krishnan Pilla's oil painting at the Kottayam Public Library. E.V's wife B. Maheshwariamma and son Adoor Bhasi were also present at the ceremony.
  • Nominated as Advisory Committee member for the Malayalam section of the National Book Trust at Delhi.
  • Became a member of Kerala State Small Industries Association's Kottayam Executive Committee.
  • With the Chief Minister as Chairman and DC as a member, the official language committee was reorganized.
1979 April
  • DC was nominated as the Consultant of the documentary 'Achadiyude Katha' (The story of Publishing) by the Government. The documentary was made by the Kerala Government Film Development Corperation on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of publishing in Kerala.
  • DC was the Technical Director at the seminar conducted by the National Book Trust, India, at Thiruvananthapuram. The topic of the three day seminar (Nov 26 – Nov 28) was 'Malayalam Book Publishing in the next decade'.
1981 July 16
  • The Kerala State Freedom Fighters Association's State Council selected DC as their Treasurer under the Chairmanship of K. R. Ilankkath.
  • With DC as Editor, Current Books began publishing Current Books Bulletin from Kottayam.
  • DC was elected as the president of the Publishers Association of Kerala for the following two years, at the Publishers Association meeting held at Ernakulam.
Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next